OBSESSION WITH MULTITASKING

It is 28th August 2019….

Hello, This is Shweta! Blogging from Singapore!!

Writing has been my forte being an expression of my thoughts and creativity which has kept piling up over the years. Until today when I turn my passion into spreading Colours of Paradise…on this planet!!

In the beginning, the one thing that held me back from the writing of a blog was the fear of not knowing how or where to start. The fear of not being good enough. The fear of failure…!!!

Being a finance professional, a working mom and wife of a hardcore finance professional actually a multitasker himself but a backbone to me, I badly needed a breakthrough to come out from the world of ‘F’s… finance…figures…formula…fiscal…forex…factor…… & so many which has nothing to do when I need to figure out how I manage the logistics when my girl needed to do some extracurricular activities…life has its own adventures which you have to play along… indeed!!

Finally, Today I decided to go with the flow of my thoughts… challenges need to be overcome!!

The mission is very simple…just to talk about and know what’s going on with my life or yours!! As I’m going to talk about multitasking, of course, the whole world of multitaskers I’d like to reach out. But why I chose Multitasking because I felt my addiction with this… my obsession with perfection!! This is quite fascinating while working 24/7 consciously or even unconsciously sometimes when ideas start coming in dreams… Not sure if this does happen with others but somehow, I, on this planet believe that I can utilize my sleep time also but believe me it’s a terrible idea. So, I’m going to make some noise about it and leave a little dent on this Universe!!!

1

It sounds so good when you are called a Multitasker, a Hero, a Superman or a Centurion-Women or a Supermom … I love all these adjectives… at least it gives me an impression that I will suffer nothing to stand between me and the realization of myself. But in reality, a ‘Super status” lies in between fatigue and the nervous strain of maintaining that “super status” pitch for themselves and the benefits of family.

Perhaps the biggest problem of all, though, is that the majority of people doing the multitasking at different levels have a big-ass blind spot on just how much they suck at it.
We believe we can e-mail and talk on the phone at the same time, with little or no degradation of either communication.

We believe we can do homework while watching a movie.

We believe we can resolve a technical glitch of software while driving on the road.

We believe we can attend Members meeting in the office and Parent-Teacher Meeting in School happening on the same day.

We believe we can surf the web while talking to our kids/spouse/lover/co-worker.

2

But we can’t! Not without a hit on every level – time, quality, and the ability to think deeply.

Read it somewhere…The study carried out at the Institute of Psychiatry, found excessive use of technology reduced workers’ intelligence. Those distracted by incoming email and phone calls saw a 10-point fall in their IQ.

Read this also somewhere… Multitasking makes us stupid. Is it true?? Wondering a work-life balance without multitasking is possible???

Well… I believe that brain has to handle the tasks prudently controlling all the patterns of nerve cells considering your mood & emotions as well……Whoa!!!! And truly and effective multitasking should not be a big deal if you have done a proper task mapping…. bravo! Brains of Super-Multitaskers are different!!!

3

The trick here is that when you have to handle any task the planning part is another task where you have to keep a lot of things in your head at once. It’s just that visually a bit farsightedness with all consequences to think in advance and you are there!

I’ve often pushed back on demands to manage multiple things at the same time. Like… my work, my passion with music, dance, creativity, fashion, travel, writing, sports & the most fascinating ladies outings… (endless desires), on the very serious note my girl’s school & extra-curricular activities, hubby’s traveling and household …… seriously logistics and time management is on the nerves! It can be difficult to say no to me-time or family-time because we are social animals prone to occupational hazard of optimism!

We typically overestimate how much we’ll actually get done, and multi-tasking exaggerates our own internal biases even more. Whenever possible, avoid interruptions and avoid working on more than one project at the same time, be brutally honest with yourself – about how much you can actually get done under multi-tasking conditions. It’s probably less than you think.

4

But guys… please don’t make your life boring…. let go lose yourself a bit… let the obsession turn into contentment … let your addiction be a fun!!

So, there is a short-term goal for men with pens and women with passion, 15 mins workout before starting your day, not a big deal! YO…!!!!!!Actually, that’s awesome feeling to be anywhere and everywhere on this planet to see the Colours of Paradise!!!!
So Now, where do we go from here…. Please do write if there is anything you’re struggling with right now that I can help you!

Would appreciate, let me know what kind of content would you like to see more on this blog? Will try my best to touch all the colours of life!

Do like & share this post, hope it makes sense!!

Thanks for being with me till the end!!! Stay tuned with Colours Of Paradise for some more challenges which makes the life more interesting and meaningful! With this thought…This is Shweta signing off…

See You Soon!!!

shweta sign off

Leave a comment